Award-Winning Writers | The Sun Magazine
Featured Selections

Award-Winning Writers

July 12, 2022

The Pushcart Prize is awarded annually to the “best of the small presses.” Most recently, Sun contributors Maria Black won a Pushcart for her story “Mark on the Cross” [March 2020] and Jennifer Bowen Hicks won for her essay “Night Cows” [August 2020].

Essays in The Sun by Louise A. Blum, Chris Bursk, John Freeman, Nick Fuller Googins, Erin McReynolds, Sparrow, and Margo Steines were listed as distinguished in the 2021 Best American Essays anthology. Ross Gay and Noah Davis’s piece “The Ramshackle Garden of Affection” was included in 2021’s The Year’s Best Sports Writing anthology.

Congratulations to the authors. If you missed their work in the magazine or want to read it again, just click the links above. (To listen to a playlist inspired by Erin McReynolds’s essay “Train Songs,” click here.)

What Do You Think? Has something we published moved you? Fired you up? Did we miss the mark? We'd love to hear about it. Send Us A Letter